Is Driver Education required to obtain a Driver’s License in Louisiana?
Per Louisiana State Law: R.S. 32:407 Revised 1/1/2009:
All applicants under the age of 17 will be licensed utilizing a graduated licensing system, as follows:
Stage 1 – Learner’s Permit – To obtain permit, applicant must:
A.Be at least 15 years of age.
B.Furnish certificate of completion of an approved 30-hour classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind the wheel instruction (obtained at Lake Area Driving School).
C.Pass knowledge test, road signs, and vision screening (at LA Department of Motor Vehicles Office).
D.Drive with a licensed parent, guardian, or adult at least 21 years of age.
E.Maintain the learner’s permit a minimum of 180 days and cannot upgrade to Stage 2 until attainment of 16th birthday.
Stage 2 – Intermediate License – To obtain license, applicant must:
A.Be at least 16 years of age
B.Pass the on-road driving test (at LA Department of Motor Vehicles Office).
C.Not drive between the hours of 11 pm and 5 am UNLESS accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, or adult at least 21 years of age.
Stage 3 – Permanent License – To obtain license, applicant must:
A.Be at least 17 years of age.
B.Not have any at-fault accidents during the intermediate stage.
C.Not have any convictions for moving, seat belt, or curfew violations during the intermediate stage.